About Us

Brief History of the Monte Mucho Chapter

Monte Mucho Audubon Society (MMAS) was established in February 2001 by Jim Hailey, who spearheaded the effort beginning in November, 2000.  The Chapter was originally based out of Realitos, Texas.  It later moved to Laredo, Texas after Jim Hailey relocated to Central Texas.  MMAS currently covers seven counties to include Webb, Zapata, Starr, La Salle, Duval, Jim Hogg, and Dimmit.

Past Presidents

  • Jim Hailey – President 2001-2008

  • Tom Miller – President 2009-2015

  • Daniel Perales – President 2016-Present

2021-2022 Monte Mucho Audubon Society Board

Daniel Perales, President

1227 Saint Patrick Dr., Laredo, Tx  78045



Glenda Barrera, Vice-President


Maria (Masi) Serna, Secretary


John Kelley, Treasurer


Tom Miller, Board Member


Raul Delgado, Board Member


Dario Gutierrez, Board Member


Our Values


For more than a century Audubon has protected birds and their habitat for the benefit of humanity as well as the earth’s biodiversity. This makes Audubon a truly unique and trusted force for conservation. Visit Our Gallery.


A commitment to education is at the heart of the Audubon tradition. By inspiring more people in more places to value and protect the natural world, we are laying the foundation for future conservation.
Visit Our Gallery.


Today the longest-running wildlife census in the hemisphere continues to shape and inform our approach to conservation, providing vital information about bird populations and trends.
Visit Our Gallery.

Interested in becoming a volunteer?